These Are the Best Chefs and Restaurants in America Right Now

  1. Home
  2. Life
By Tejal Rao | 2:00 pm, May 4, 2016

(Bloomberg) — At a ceremony held on Monday evening in Chicago’s Lyric Opera, the James Beard Foundation announced the winners of its national chef and restaurant awards.

Daniela Soto-Innes, the young chef responsible for the hit duck carnitas, among the many other excellent flavors at New York’s Cosme, took home the award for Rising Star Chef. Suzanne Goin of Lucques, in Los Angeles, won for Outstanding Chef. And Alinea, which recently reopened in Chicago after a seven-figure renovation, won for Outstanding Restaurant.

More: How A British Millennial Conquered Southeast Asia’s Dining Scene

New York won in the bar, restaurateur, and service categories. See the full list below, including best baker and pastry chef:

Best New Restaurant: Shaya, New Orleans

Outstanding Baker: Joanne Chang, Flour Bakery + Café, Boston

Outstanding Bar Program: Maison Premiere, Brooklyn, N.Y.

Outstanding Chef: Suzanne Goin, Lucques, Los Angeles

Outstanding Pastry Chef: Dahlia Narvaez, Osteria Mozza, Los Angeles

Outstanding Restaurant: Alinea, Chicago

Outstanding Restaurateur: Ken Friedman, The Spotted Pig, The Breslin, Tosca Café, New York

Outstanding Service: Eleven Madison Park, New York

Outstanding Wine Program: Bern’s Steakhouse, Tampa

Outstanding Wine, Beer, or Spirits Professional: Ron Cooper, Del Maguey Single Village Mezcal, Ranchos de Taos, N.M.


Chef Grant Achatz presents "Alinea Madrid" restaurant in Madrid, Spain. Photo by Carlos Alvarez/Getty Images
Chef Grant Achatz at “Alinea Madrid”. Photo by Carlos Alvarez/Getty Images


Rising Star Chef of the Year: Daniela Soto‐Innes, Cosme, New York

Best Chef, Great Lakes: Curtis Duffy, Grace, Chicago

Best Chef, Mid-Atlantic: Aaron Silverman, Rose’s Luxury, Washington

Best Chef, Midwest: Paul Berglund, The Bachelor Farmer, Minneapolis

Best Chef, New York: Jonathan Waxman, Barbuto

Best Chef, Northeast: Zak Pelaccio, Fish & Game, Hudson, N.Y.

Best Chef, Northwest: Renee Erickson, The Whale Wins, Seattle

Best Chef, South: Justin Devillier, La Petite Grocery, New Orleans

Best Chef, Southeast: Tandy Wilson, City House, Nashville

Best Chef, Southwest: Justin Yu, Oxheart, Houston

Best Chefs, West: Jon Shook and Vinny Dotolo, Animal, Los Angeles


2016 James Beard Foundation America’s Classics: Al Ameer Restaurant, Dearborn, Mich. (Owners: Khalil Ammar and Zaki Hashem); Brooks’ House of BBQ, Oneonta, N.Y. (Owners: Beth and Ryan Brooks); Bully’s Restaurant, Jackson, Miss. (Owners: Greta Brown Bully and Tyrone Bully); Matt’s Place Drive-In, Butte, Mont. (Owners: Robin and Brad Cockhill); Rancho de Chimayó Restaurante, Chimayo, N.M. (Owner: Florence Jaramillo)

2016 James Beard Foundation Humanitarian of the Year: Father Greg Boyle, Homeboy Industries, Los Angeles

2016 James Beard Foundation Lifetime Achievement Award: Leah Chase, Dooky Chase’s Restaurant, New Orleans



This article was written by TEJAL RAO from Bloomberg and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.