nintendo NX

What To Expect From the Nintendo NX Big Reveal

  1. Home
  2. Entertainment
By AFP | 8:49 am, October 20, 2016

An October 20 announcement from Nintendo brings with it the opportunity to confirm, deny, and add further material to the rumors that have surrounded the March 2017 console since its announcement. Its form and nature should be made known, and a relatively low price would help fans old and new plan around end-of-year spending.

First announced in March 2015, relatively early by all accounts, Nintendo’s next console system is to launch in March 2017.

With the end-of-year Holiday season fast approaching, Nintendo is to reveal that console at 10am EST (New York) on October 20.

The time, 2pm UTC, is equivalent to 7am PST, 3pm in the UK, 4pm in Central Europe and South Africa, 10pm in Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines and Beijing, China, and 1am in Sydney, Australia.

That’s when a 3-minute preview video will drop (see nintendo.com, youtube.com/nintendo, and twitter.com/nintendoamerica or twitter.com/nintendo) and the first case will be set out for a new type of console in an age of smartphones, tablets, virtual reality, and social gaming.

Patent filings, apparent leaks, and inferences from industry executives have led fans and observers to expect a console that lifts elements from both portable and static console development.

Two years of speculation has narrowed in on a tablet or phablet-style portable display with detachable wand controllers — blending innovations from the Wii and Wii U eras.

Such a device would also be able to connect with TV screens.

For portability, it follows that the NX would stick with the slot-in cartridges of the Game Boy, DS, and 3DS families, supporting digital downloads, but leaving optical discs behind — a format adopted by home consoles since the mid-1990s.

As for games, the Wii U’s fortunes might have been different if some of its most appealing games — “Splatoon,” “Mario Kart 8,” “Super Mario 3D World” and “Super Mario Maker” among them — were available closer to its debut.

So Nintendo should be touching upon some big hitters in its reveal.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild” has already been announced as a launch title, while French headquartered studio network Ubisoft has been vocal in its support of the console and has a new version of “Just Dance,” one of the Wii’s most mainstream hits, in the works for 2017.

New titles featuring Sonic the Hedgehog and Metroid Prime, remakes of “Dragon Quest X” and “Dragon Quest XI,” and releases built around the Pokémon and Mario franchises are also thought to be part of the initial raft of games.

Finally, and perhaps more speculatively, “Pokémon Go” was developed, under license, not by the Japanese console manufacturer nor its co-founded Pokémon Company, but by Google spin-off Niantic. Given the NX’s expected portable nature, however, Nintendo may choose to highlight the potential for similar experiences on its new handheld.

This article was from AFP Relax News and was legally licensed through the NewsCred publisher network.

Advertisement